U2gigs.com - U2:UV Achtung Baby Live at the Sphere 2023/2024

· Home
· All Tours History
· E+I 360° photos
· JT30 360° photos
· Live Releases
· U2 Pictures
· Bootleg Covers
· Personal Charts
· News
· Twitter Archive
· Contact

U2's setlist at the Roxy, 28/05

Today, U2 performed a special concert at the Roxy club in West Hollywood. This show was arranged to make up for U2's cancelled appearance at KROQ's Almost Acoustic Christmas last December. U2 had not played a full set at a venue this small since the All That You Can't Leave Behind promo tour, when they did three club dates: 19 October 2000 at the Manray, Paris; 5 December 2000 at Irving Plaza, New York; and 7 February 2001 at the Astoria, London. The audience for this show comprised KROQ contest winners as well as celebrities including Judd Apatow, Colin Farrell, Kate Hudson, Tom Morello, Aaron Paul, Sean Penn, and Kevin Smith.

Before the show, U2 did an extensive soundcheck. It included 11 O'clock Tick Tock, The Ocean, An Cat Dubh (which was just Edge and Dallas), Elevation, Stuck In A Moment, Sunday Bloody Sunday, and California. Only the last two songs had been played so far on the Innocence + Experience Tour, and today Sunday Bloody Sunday was soundchecked in its traditional form rather than the acoustic version being played on tour.

U2 opened the concert with the first performance of The Ocean since 9 December 2005; this was the first time it has opened a concert since 8 June 1981. It was followed by the first performance of 11 O'clock Tick Tock since 21 August 2001; this performance was only its thirteenth live appearance since the end of the Unforgettable Fire Tour in 1985. All four of the first songs were drawn from the Boy era, and were followed by three songs from All That You Can't Leave Behind, two of which are yet to be played on the Innocence + Experience Tour. Elevation was performed for the first time since the last show of the 360 Tour on 30 July 2011. Stuck In A Moment was played by Edge on piano - it was performed at promo dates in 2014 but has not yet appeared on the IE Tour.

On the IE Tour, U2 are performing a new acoustic version of Sunday Bloody Sunday, but as the soundcheck indicated the band resurrected it in traditional electric form for this show. Hence this is its first performance in that style since the final 360 Tour show. It was followed by a fifth Boy-era song to round out the main set. This is the first time U2 have performed at least five Boy-era songs at one show since 24 September 1984 (they played six Boy songs across the Vertigo Tour, but never five at one show). At the start of the encore, Bono crowdsurfed during Vertigo - a song that was not some copies of on the printed setlist, though it was on others. U2 did not play any Songs Of Innocence material until the encore, rounding out the show with two new songs. The final song of the night, California, has only been played twice so far on the IE Tour.

In total, this show featured four songs not yet played on the main tour, comprising a third of the setlist. Interestingly, no songs were performed from U2's two best-selling albums, The Joshua Tree and Achtung Baby, indicating the diehard-friendly, club-themed nature of the show. The full setlist was:

  1. The Ocean / Do Not Stand At My Grave And Weep (snippet)
  2. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock / Silver Lining (snippet)
  3. I Will Follow
  4. The Electric Co. / Send in the Clowns (snippet) / I Can See For Miles (snippet)
  5. Beautiful Day / I Remember You (snippet)
  6. Elevation
  7. Stuck In A Moment
  8. Sunday Bloody Sunday / When Johnny Comes Marching Home (snippet)
  9. Out of Control / Iris (Hold Me Close) (snippet)

  10. encore(s):
  11. Vertigo
  12. Song For Someone
  13. California (There Is No End To Love) / God Only Knows (snippet)
All details for this show including reviews, videos and photos can be found here.

If you attended the show we ask you to share your concert review or photos with other site visitors. You can post your review of the show here and upload your pictures here.

Posted on by Axver

U2gigs.com Social

© 1996 U2gigs.com

Switch to Desktop design