U2gigs.com - U2:UV Achtung Baby Live at the Sphere 2023/2024

· Home
· All Tours History
· E+I 360° photos
· JT30 360° photos
· Live Releases
· U2 Pictures
· Bootleg Covers
· Personal Charts
· News
· Twitter Archive
· Contact

U2 rehearse, meet fans in Queensland

(The Sydney Morning Herald) -- U2 started rehearsals today for their latest Australian tour as details about the super group's new greatest hits album were revealed.

The Irish band, who arrived in Australia yesterday to continue the postponed Vertigo tour, this month release their third compilation album.

U218 Singles spans the band's recording career from their 1980 debut album Boy to 2004's How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb.

The singles offering includes two new tracks, a cover of The Skids' The Saints Are Coming with American group Green Day and another new track, Window In The Skies.

Both were recorded at London's legendary Abbey Road studios with Red Hot Chilli Peppers producer Rick Rubin.

The British and Australian versions of U218 Singles will have a bonus track of the band's first hit I Will Follow.

The latest compilation will be released on November 18, while a new album is expected next year.

The Vertigo tour was halted in March to allow guitarist The Edge to be with a family member battling serious illness.

U2 have resumed their Australian tour at a Gold Coast base and they today greeted enthusiastic fans outside the Palazzo Versace Hotel.

"The world needs more Australia's man - that's our big message," said frontman Bono.

They travelled by helicopter to Brisbane to check out the Queensland Sports and Athletics Centre, the venue for next Tuesday's tour opener.

Bass player Adam Clayton said the resumption of the world tour meant plenty of rehearsal time.

"We have been to Queensland many, many times and always enjoyed it, but we will be busy with rehearsals while we are here," he said.

Posted on by Macphisto

U2gigs.com Social

© 1996 U2gigs.com

Switch to Desktop design