U2gigs.com - U2:UV Achtung Baby Live At The Sphere 2023

· Home
· All Tours History
· E+I 360° photos
· JT30 360° photos
· Live Releases
· U2 Pictures
· Bootleg Covers
· Personal Charts
· News
· Twitter Stream
· Twitter Archive
· Contact

U2's Istanbul setlist, 06/09

Today, U2 performed their first ever concert in Turkey. It was a special and emotional occasion, with a big surprise in the setlist.

Before the gig began, the band soundchecked Mothers Of The Disappeared, Return Of The Stingray Guitar, and astonishingly, Mercy. Mercy is an unreleased U2 song that was recorded during How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb's sessions and subsequently leaked onto the Internet. We recorded Mercy and you can listen to it below the setlist.

Mercy did not actually make it into the setlist, but Mothers Of The Disappeared did. This is MOTD's tour debut, its first performance since 2 March 2006, the first time it's been performed outside of South America since 20 December 1987, and just its fourteenth performance ever. It was performed with multi-talented Turkish folk legend Ömer Zülfü Livaneli, who then led U2 and the crowd in singing his famous folk song Yiğidim Aslanım Burda Yatıyor.

Mothers Of The Disappeared took MLK's usual place in the setlist, meaning that this is the first show on the 360° Tour at which MLK has not been performed. In other setlist news, New Year's Day and Ultra Violet both returned to the setlist after missing the Athens gig, taking the places of I Will Follow and Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me respectively. Pride, a rarity this year, remained in the set after the Athens gig, continuing its pattern of being performed in cities where U2 has rarely or never visited. Meanwhile, before the gig, members of U2's crew joined Snow Patrol for Chasing Cars, as this is the last of Snow Patrol's many support slots on 360°.

The full setlist was:

  1. Return of the Stingray Guitar
  2. Beautiful Day / Always Forever Now (snippet)
  3. New Year's Day
  4. Get on Your Boots
  5. Magnificent
  6. Mysterious Ways / My Sweet Lord (snippet)
  7. Elevation
  8. Until the End of the World
  9. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
  10. Pride (In the Name of Love)
  11. In a Little While
  12. Miss Sarajevo
  13. City of Blinding Lights
  14. Vertigo / Teenage Kicks (snippet)
  15. Crazy Tonight / Discothèque (snippet) / John I'm Only Dancing (snippet)
  16. Sunday Bloody Sunday / Get Up Stand Up (snippet)
  17. Mothers Of The Disappeared
  18. Yiğidim Aslanım Burda Yatıyor
  19. Walk On / You'll Never Walk Alone (snippet)

  20. encore(s):
  21. One
  22. Amazing Grace (snippet) / Where the Streets Have No Name
  23. Ultraviolet (Light My Way)
  24. With or Without You
  25. Moment of Surrender
All details for this show including reviews, videos and photos can be found here.

If you attended the show we ask you to share your concert review or photos with other site visitors. You can post your review of the show here and upload your pictures here.

Our recording of Mercy being soundchecked:

Posted on by Axver

U2gigs.com Social

© 1996 U2gigs.com

Switch to Desktop design