U2gigs.com - Joshua Tree Tour 2019

· Home
· All Tours History
· E+I 360° photos
· JT30 360° photos
· Live Releases
· U2 Pictures
· Bootleg Covers
· Personal Charts
· News
· Twitter Stream
· Twitter Archive
· Contact

U2's Chicago #1 setlist, 03/06/17

U2 performed their first of two shows in Chicago today. It is the second city on the North American leg to get two gigs, after Los Angeles, with one more such instance to come in New York. Soundcheck reports indicate that A Sort of Homecoming, missing in action since the first Los Angeles show, was rehearsed. Sadly, however, it did not make tonight's setlist.

During Sunday Bloody Sunday, Bono acknowledged the terrorist attack today in London, as well as the recent one in Manchester, leading the crowd in a passionate version of the song's traditional "no more! no more!" chant. Bad was played for the seventh show in a row. This is the first time it has been played at so many consecutive shows since the seven-show run from 28 April 2001 to 9 May 2001.

The order of the encore was adjusted slightly again. Miss Sarajevo opened the encore at the last three shows, but tonight Beautiful Day moved back into that position and Miss Sarajevo was wedged between Elevation and Ultra Violet.

I Will Follow was played tonight for the fourth time on the JT 2017 Tour—but, notably, this is the first time it was actually on the planned setlist. The previous three performances were all spontaneous divergences from the original setlist. This is also the first time I Will Follow has been played on consecutive nights this tour. Before it was played, Bono led the crowd in singing Happy Birthday for Chris Blackwell, founder of Island Records, who was in attendance tonight. Bono said Blackwell's birthday is next week, though it's actually almost three weeks away on 22 June, on which day he turns 80.

The full setlist was:

  1. Sunday Bloody Sunday
  2. New Year's Day
  3. Bad / America (snippet)
  4. Pride (In the Name of Love)
  5. Where the Streets Have No Name
  6. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
  7. With or Without You
  8. Bullet the Blue Sky / Black Dog (snippet) / America (snippet)
  9. Running To Stand Still
  10. Red Hill Mining Town
  11. In God's Country
  12. Trip Through Your Wires
  13. One Tree Hill
  14. Exit / Wise Blood (snippet) / Eeny Meeny Miny Moe (snippet)
  15. Mothers Of The Disappeared

  16. encore(s):
  17. Beautiful Day / My Kind Of Town (snippet)
  18. Elevation
  19. Miss Sarajevo / The New Colossus (snippet)
  20. Ultraviolet (Light My Way)
  21. One / Hear Us Coming (snippet)
  22. Happy Birthday
  23. I Will Follow
All details for this show including reviews, videos and photos can be found here.

If you attended the show we ask you to share your concert review or photos with other site visitors. You can post your review of the show here and upload your pictures here.

Posted on by Axver

U2gigs.com Social

© 1996 U2gigs.com

Switch to Desktop design