U2gigs.com - U2:UV Achtung Baby Live At The Sphere 2023

· Home
· All Tours History
· E+I 360° photos
· JT30 360° photos
· Live Releases
· U2 Pictures
· Bootleg Covers
· Personal Charts
· News
· Twitter Stream
· Twitter Archive
· Contact

U2's Vienna setlist, 30/08

Today, U2 performed their sole Austrian concert of the 360° Tour, in Vienna. They had originally wanted to perform this concert during the 2009 European leg, but Ernst Happel Stadium was occupied by a Jehovah's Witnesses convention during the period U2 wanted it. Fortunately, no such problems faced the band this year.

Before the show, the crew conducted a lengthy soundcheck that included City Of Blinding Lights, Vertigo, Moment Of Surrender, the piano from three songs (New Year's Day, Miss Sarajevo, and Walk On), and the guitar riff from Desire. The original printed setlist was changed just before the concert began; between I Still Haven't Found and In A Little While, the original set had "North Star or Every Breaking Wave" and then Glastonbury. Neither Glastonbury nor North Star were performed.

The setlist the band performed, however, did include Every Breaking Wave. This is just the second time it has ever been played, after its debut nine days ago at in Helsinki. The first song of the second encore has become rotational at recent concerts, and in Vienna, the position was filled by Ultra Violet rather than Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me. The Unforgettable Fire remains missing in action. Amusingly enough, one Vienna newspaper printed the setlist before the concert even began - and as you can see in this picture, got it wrong.

The full setlist was:

  1. Return of the Stingray Guitar
  2. Beautiful Day / Rain (snippet)
  3. New Year's Day
  4. Get on Your Boots
  5. Magnificent
  6. Mysterious Ways
  7. Elevation
  8. Until the End of the World
  9. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
  10. Every Breaking Wave
  11. In a Little While
  12. Miss Sarajevo
  13. City of Blinding Lights
  14. Vertigo / Rock Me Amadeus (snippet)
  15. Crazy Tonight / Discothèque (snippet)
  16. Sunday Bloody Sunday
  17. MLK
  18. Walk On / You'll Never Walk Alone (snippet)

  19. encore(s):
  20. One
  21. Amazing Grace (snippet) / Where the Streets Have No Name / All You Need Is Love (snippet)
  22. Ultraviolet (Light My Way)
  23. With or Without You
  24. Moment of Surrender
All details for this show including reviews, videos and photos can be found here.

If you attended the show we ask you to share your concert review or photos with other site visitors. You can post your review of the show here and upload your pictures here.

Posted on by Axver

U2gigs.com Social

© 1996 U2gigs.com

Switch to Desktop design