U2gigs.com - Joshua Tree Tour 2019

· Home
· All Tours History
· E+I 360° photos
· JT30 360° photos
· Live Releases
· U2 Pictures
· Bootleg Covers
· Personal Charts
· News
· Twitter Stream
· Twitter Archive
· Contact

U2's La Plata #1 setlist, 30/03

Today, U2 performed their first ever show in the Argentinian city of La Plata. All five previous Argentina shows have been held in Buenos Aires, which is not far from La Plata.

The setlist featured one big surprise: the tour debut of Even Better Than The Real Thing. This song was rehearsed as far back as the Barcelona rehearsals of June 2009, but had previously not been included in a setlist. It was last played on the first leg of the Elevation Tour at a show in Boston on 9 June 2001. So that's a live absence of nine years, 9 months, and 21 days. What makes this even more momentous is that EBTTRT was used to open the concert. Although many songs have had their live debut in the opener's position (usually at the start of a tour leg), this is the first time a song has been used as the opener of a full tour concert upon its return from a lengthy live absence (although Sunday Bloody Sunday returned from a near-five year absence at the Hershey public rehearsal on 7 August 1992).

This takes the tally of 360° Tour openers to five. Of the other four, Breathe opened 44 shows in 2009, Stingray Guitar opened all 32 in 2010, Beautiful Day opened the previous three shows this year, and Magnificent opened one in 2009. Speaking of Beautiful Day, it moved to the middle of the setlist; its position at eleventh is the latest it has been played at any 360° Tour concert.

Otherwise, the setlist in La Plata featured few changes from the usual, with songs like I Will Follow and Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me holding on to their rotational spots. Contrary to initial reports, unreleased song North Star was played. Mothers Of The Disappeared was only snippeted before Streets, like in Chile. On a final note, many fans will be pleased to know that this tour's normal taped intro, Space Oddity by David Bowie, was used tonight instead of the Get On Your Boots remix.

The full setlist was:

  1. Even Better Than The Real Thing Fish Out of Water Mix
  2. I Will Follow
  3. Get on Your Boots
  4. Magnificent
  5. Mysterious Ways / My Sweet Lord (snippet) / Norwegian Wood (snippet)
  6. Elevation
  7. Until the End of the World / Anthem (snippet)
  8. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For / Three Little Birds (snippet)
  9. Happy Birthday
  10. North Star
  11. Beautiful Day / Blackbird (snippet)
  12. In a Little While
  13. Miss Sarajevo
  14. City of Blinding Lights
  15. Vertigo / Teenage Kicks (snippet)
  16. Crazy Tonight / Relax (snippet) / Two Tribes (snippet)
  17. Sunday Bloody Sunday
  18. Scarlet
  19. Walk On / You'll Never Walk Alone (snippet)

  20. encore(s):
  21. One
  22. Mothers Of The Disappeared (snippet) / Where the Streets Have No Name
  23. Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me / Don't Cry For Me Argentina (snippet)
  24. With or Without You
  25. Moment of Surrender
All details for this show including reviews, videos and photos can be found here.

If you attended the show we ask you to share your concert review or photos with other site visitors. You can post your review of the show here and upload your pictures here.

Posted on by Axver

U2gigs.com Social

© 1996 U2gigs.com

Switch to Desktop design