U2gigs.com - U2:UV Achtung Baby Live at the Sphere 2023/2024

· Home
· All Tours History
· E+I 360° photos
· JT30 360° photos
· Live Releases
· U2 Pictures
· Bootleg Covers
· Personal Charts
· News
· Twitter Archive
· Contact

U2's Chicago #3 setlist, 28/06

Today, U2 performed their third show of a five-night run in Chicago. There were some very interesting reports from the soundcheck: Lucifer's Hands, only played live once before on 13 June 2015; The Crystal Ballroom, never performed live; Gloria, not performed since 14 December 2005; and Two Hearts Beat As One, last performed on 27 December 1989 (which is its sole performance since April 1985). Two of these songs made their way out of the soundcheck for full performances, and another was snippeted.

Gloria made its debut as the fortieth song played so far this tour, or 42nd if you count the two songs only played at the Roxy on 28 May. It is the first song from October to be performed this tour. Gloria had not been performed for 9 years, 6 months, and 14 days - or, as Bono claimed when he introduced the song, "about twenty years"! He was, however, quite correct when he introduced Lucifer's Hands as only being played live once before. It was back for its second performance of tour after missing four shows.

All I Want Is You was also performed for only the second time this tour, returning after a nearly month-long absence of nine shows. Bono introduced it by saying "you can tell the missus is in the house tonight", and during the song mentioned that he was "feeling the spirit of Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash in the house" before giving a shout-out to their son who was present tonight. At the start of All I Want Is You, Bono mentioned that there was a "marriage theme tonight", which had been sustained over the previous couple of songs to acknowledge the US Supreme Court's historic ruling in favour of marriage equality. A rainbow flag was thrown on stage during Pride and Bono shouted "gay pride in the name of love!", then in Beautiful Day he altered a line to "rainbow colours right in front of you" and sang a snippet of Two Hearts Beat As One at the end.

Three fans were brought on stage for Desire, back from a three-show absence. Bono first pulled up Julia during Mysterious Ways to do the Meerkat filming - when she said she had been on stage once before, in Cleveland ten years ago, Bono replied with "my how you've grown!" He then brought up two more fans, Shawn and Kevin, to play guitar and sing respectively.

The full setlist was:

  1. The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)
  2. Gloria / Van Morrison's Gloria (snippet)
  3. Vertigo
  4. I Will Follow
  5. Iris (Hold Me Close)
  6. Cedarwood Road
  7. Song For Someone
  8. Sunday Bloody Sunday / When Johnny Comes Marching Home (snippet)
  9. Raised By Wolves / Psalm 23 (snippet)
  10. Until the End of the World / She's A Rainbow (snippet) / A Clockwork Orange (snippet)
  11. (Intermission)
  12. Invisible
  13. Even Better Than The Real Thing Fish Out of Water Mix
  14. Mysterious Ways / Young Americans (snippet)
  15. Desire / La Bamba (snippet) / Julia (snippet)
  16. Lucifer's Hands
  17. Every Breaking Wave
  18. Bullet the Blue Sky / 19 (snippet)
  19. The Hands That Built America (snippet) / Pride (In the Name of Love)
  20. Beautiful Day / Two Hearts Beat as One (snippet)
  21. All I Want Is You
  22. With or Without You / Love Will Tear Us Apart (snippet)

  23. encore(s):
  24. City of Blinding Lights
  25. Mother And Child Reunion (snippet) / Where the Streets Have No Name / California (There Is No End To Love) (snippet)
  26. One / Invisible (snippet)
All details for this show including reviews, videos and photos can be found here.

If you attended the show we ask you to share your concert review or photos with other site visitors. You can post your review of the show here and upload your pictures here.

Posted on by Axver

U2gigs.com Social

© 1996 U2gigs.com

Switch to Desktop design