U2gigs.com - Joshua Tree Tour 2019

· Home
· All Tours History
· E+I 360° photos
· JT30 360° photos
· Live Releases
· U2 Pictures
· Bootleg Covers
· Personal Charts
· News
· Twitter Stream
· Twitter Archive
· Contact

U2's Zurich #2 setlist, 12/09

Today, U2 performed their second of two concerts in Zurich, Switzerland. This was the first time ever that U2 have performed two outdoor gigs on one tour in the same Swiss city. Earlier in the day, the band did a soundcheck, including Mercy, Mothers Of The Disappeared, Walk On, and a full band North Star.

The concert setlist had a number of surprises. Most notably, Mercy graduated from the soundcheck and made its live debut. It is a song the band originally wrote during How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb's sessions but cut from the tracklist at a late stage; a studio recording of it has circulated online since 2004. Mercy's performance came after another unreleased song, North Star, was performed for just the third time ever, returning to the setlist for the first time since 20 August 2010, an absence of over three weeks.

Another big surprise was the performance of Mothers Of The Disappeared, returning to the setlist after its tour debut in Istanbul six days ago. This is just its fifteenth performance ever since its release 23 years ago. Early in the setlist, the band performed a song rare to this tour but not to the live stage in general - I Will Follow was played for the third time on 360°. The encore was unexpectedly short; the band played just one encore rather than two, skipping the rotational slot of Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me/Ultra Violet and With Or Without You. This was the first show at which With Or Without You has not been performed since 25 June 2005. This was also the first show of the 360° Tour to not feature any songs from the Unforgettable Fire album. The last time U2 performed a concert without any Unforgettable Fire album songs in the setlist was 28 August 2001.

Heavy rain fell during the concert, as evidenced by Bono's repeated topical snippets. The full setlist was:

  1. Return of the Stingray Guitar
  2. Beautiful Day / Rain (snippet)
  3. I Will Follow
  4. Get on Your Boots
  5. Magnificent
  6. Mysterious Ways / Can't Stand The Rain (snippet)
  7. Elevation / Singin' In The Rain (snippet)
  8. Until the End of the World
  9. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For / Singin' In The Rain (snippet)
  10. North Star
  11. Mercy
  12. In a Little While
  13. Miss Sarajevo
  14. City of Blinding Lights / Singin' In The Rain (snippet)
  15. Vertigo / Teenage Kicks (snippet)
  16. Crazy Tonight / Discothèque (snippet) / Two Tribes (snippet) / Relax (snippet)
  17. Sunday Bloody Sunday
  18. Mothers Of The Disappeared
  19. Walk On / You'll Never Walk Alone (snippet)

  20. encore(s):
  21. Like A Hurricane (snippet) / One
  22. Rain (snippet) / Where the Streets Have No Name
  23. Moment Of Surrender
All details for this show including reviews, videos and photos can be found here.

If you attended the show we ask you to share your concert review or photos with other site visitors. You can post your review of the show here and upload your pictures here.

Posted on by Axver

U2gigs.com Social

© 1996 U2gigs.com

Switch to Desktop design